Step Away from the Paint Brush

I think this is what Seth is secretly thinking lately.

You see, I have a problem. Or a few problems. I can’t make simple decisions – like what color to paint our bedroom. And, I actually like to paint.

Translation: I’ve painted our bedroom twice in one day – two different colors. And I did it again this weekend by painting a wall in our living room twice in one day – two different colors.

Why?

Because I can’t make up my mind about colors!

Remember when I wanted to paint our rooms gray? Well, it took me over a year to work up the nerve to try it. I took my time researching a “good gray” to use in our master. (Is it grey or gray? What’s the difference?) I got swatches from my local paint store and taped them to the wall. And I finally decided on….

Granite Boulder Behr

Granite Boulder Behr

Not too blue, not too dark, not too light. Just right

Until it was on my walls. Three hours later, I didn’t like it. It was like a baby blue color. Seth didn’t think so. Neither did our friend that was visiting. But I thought it was blue. I don’t even have a picture to show anyone because I hated it so much I had to paint over it immediately (or, as soon as I got home from work that day).

So it got painted again, in the same day. To this:

Behr Ashwood

Behr Ashwood

Not a major difference, right? But man, what a difference! It’s the same color we used in our main bathroom. And I love it in there.

In the bedroom, well, I like it. I’m not sure I love it. Which is why it took me over a week to pull off the tape, just in case I decided to paint it for the third time in a week!

yes, there is a person and a dog hanging out in that sadly unmade bed.

Gray walls with Duvet? Too much gray?

I got this duvet on super sale from Urban Outfitters. Sadly, I can’t decide if I like it or not. I mean, I like it. But I just don’t know if it’s too modern/too geometric for our house and style.

What do you think? Does anyone else have design impairments like me?

On another note, I spent yesterday painting my entry way. You guessed it. Twice. Once was gray. Next was Kilim Beige to match the rest of the house.

Entry Before in Sherwin Williams Latte

Now it matches the wall behind it and next to it – in Sherwin Williams Kilim Beige.

8 thoughts on “Step Away from the Paint Brush

  1. You’re in my head!

    I actually like to paint, too. If you’re still on the fence about the grey in your bedroom I love Benjamin Moore’s Rockport grey. I was on the fence about trying grey too. I was worried it would be more jail cell than warm and cozy grey velvet walls (or something like that). In any case, I bit the bullet and painted the master bedroom in our first house Rockport Grey. I loved it.

    Gray vs. Grey is I think the difference between American and British spelling.

    PS: Love the herringbone bedding. Herringbone is quite a traditional pattern so the urban outfitters version updates it a bit. Much like the rest of your home. Updated traditional. That’s what I’m trying to go for in our house too.

  2. I really love the paint job. Maybe when you build the bed, it’ll help tie it all together. Looking on houzz, you don’t see many grey walls with dark wood furniture.

  3. OMG – I am in love with your duvet! I don’t think it’s too much gray but then again….you haven’t seen my bedroom….deep dark gray with a deep gray & blue-ish Dwell Studio comforter. But I will say I’m on the hunt for the perfect bed set because I want some color in there so ….. since I’m indecisive also…I’m not much help 🙂 But I don’t blame you for re-painting. I have a few rooms that are driving me bananas right now because I can’t stand the color. Good luck! Glad to see you back in action over here!

  4. Pingback: Hello, July! « It's Just Us

  5. Pingback: A Year in Review: 2012 « It's Just Us

Leave a Reply

