Recipe: Cauliflower Mash and Tater Tots

Do you ever stand in the produce section of your grocery store trying to figure out what kind of veggie to eat? I get in a serious rut when it comes to food selection. Last year I was an endless edamame eater. For a long time, other than green beans, Seth would only eat asparagus. Then it was roasted brussel sprouts. (Don’t knock ’em till you try Ina Garten’s easy recipe. Yum!) I’m not sure if this counts, but I also adore the sweet potato gnocchi recipe I found on 33 Shades of Green. I shared with you my recent foray into baked zucchini sticks, and I also tried the baked avocado. So when I found this recipe on pinterest, I knew I had to give it a shot. It’s made with a vegetable that neither Seth nor I really like.

And guess what? It was a hit! Seth asked what it was and I told him potatoey-crispy cheese balls. He said he loved them. I didn’t have the heart to tell him that he was eating cauliflower.

Image

I even made the cauliflower mash – just for me! It was delish.

Erin’s Super Sneaky Cauliflower Mash

1 medium head of cauliflower

2 tablespoons butter

1/4 cup cream

1/2 cup finely shredded parmesean cheese

salt and pepper to taste

Directions: Clean cauliflower and put florets into a microwave safe bowl. Add cream and butter. Microwave for 5 minutes. Using an immersion blender (thanks mom!) begin to puree/blend your cauliflower. Add salt and pepper. Add cheese and blend some more. Consistency will begin to look like mashed potatoes. You can through in some chives or garlic, if you’d like.

And done! Another fabulous vegetable to put into the dinner rotation!

Tried any great new recipes lately?

One thought on “Recipe: Cauliflower Mash and Tater Tots

  1. Pingback: A Year in Review: 2012 « It's Just Us

Leave a Reply

