Penny Pinchin’

I’m always amazed at how women are able to budget so well. I find that I think that I’m a good budgeter – until I find out that people like Emily over at Imperfect are able to budget $250 a month on grocery and not cheat! How is this possible, I ask?!

Better question – How do I spend SO MUCH every month for two people and it still seems like we never have any food in the house?! It’s like feast or famine around here. I either go all out and make an amazing meal – or there’s never anything to eat.
For the last few months I’ve been contemplating how to decrease our food budget, while stillmaking it seem like we have food-a-plenty in the cupboards and fridge. Here’s my firstweeks attempt at not spending half my salary at the grocery store – check it out.
This is my receipt from last night – I saved $23.55! Boo-yah!
And check this out
All those “bold” lines – yup, that’s where I saved either by using a coupon, or buying at a discount. Oh, yay!
I think the milk and the kleenex were the only things not on sale – not too shabby.
Now let’s see how long we can last on what I purchased! We may be having some inventive meals in the next few weeks.
2 thoughts on “Penny Pinchin’

  1. AWESOME.You can also upload coupons to your safeway & soopers card too.Safeway has started sending my $10 off with a $50 purchase coupon. Do you get them?The post card also has coupons on the same postcard for like $0.50 bag of big potatoes, free salsa, $2 off a bag of chips, free tortilla wrap, $1 off iceburg lettuce, etc. My total came to $60 and I saved something like $30. It was more than amazing.

  2. Yes – love that you don't have to "clip" coupons anymore – the electronic versions are so easy – and give me something to do over my lunch break!

Leave a Reply

