Thanksgiving traditions

It’s my FAVORITE time of year – THANKSGIVING! It’s probably my favorite holiday because I love to eat – and there is so much good food and good smells in the air during Thanksgiving.
This year we are (cross your fingers!) hoping that this is Seth’s last holiday season working retail, but since he’s still store manager it means no traveling for us again this holiday season. Instead, my SIL and her 3 kids are coming to us! And my brother and his soon-to-be fiance will also be joining us. It won’t be the same but it will be good to be with family – at least some of them.
So the pressure is on for me to do the meal – and I feel like I’m forgetting something from the list of yummy Thanksgiving food traditions.
  • Turkey
  • Stuffing (mom’s recipe!)
  • Green bean casserole
  • yummy yam stuff (mom’s recipe!)
  • mashed potatoes and gravy for the boys
  • cranberry sauce
  • and pie
But I feel like I’m missing something – and it’s the corn and oyster’s that my poppa loves! I don’t think anyone but me would eat it anyway.
We are also trying to think of some great traditions to start in our new home – I’ve got one from when I was still living at home that I might re-start with Laura’s kids. We will make our place cards to decorate the dinner table (something for the kiddos to do while we are cooking!) but also so that we can each write something that we are thankful on the back of each person’s card. I did this when I was in jr. high or high school a few times and I think it would be fun for the kids to do this year – and the adults! But I feel like we need to think about other traditions.
What are your family holiday traditions?
One thought on “Thanksgiving traditions

  1. What no dinner rolls? What no fresh fruit plate? Just kidding…but from watching the food network you would think brussels sprouts were the IN thing for Thanksgiving..We will miss all of you this year. I have been thinking back to memories of past Thanksgivings and a couple of real standouts were the one when Jade came with Todd and we had 4 wonderful days of feasting and fun…the other was when Todd was in WY and it was just the 4 of us and it was 70 degrees and we went for a walk before dinner! Last year's was fun with Maria joining us too! Plus you took dad to the Colorado/Nebraska football game…and we went Black Friday shopping! Awww Memories…..

Leave a Reply

