It’s a Friday

What a brutal week – and now its Friday at 2:30 and I am ready for the relaxing weekend to begin!

I had lunch today with some friends from my old job. I love seeing these ladies – and of course hearing about all the gossip going on at the old job. Always something new and entertaining to share giggles over!
But it was interesting to contrast and compare my previous work life with my current work life. Isn’t sad that we spend the majority of our lives at work? It really makes you re-think your job especially if you are in a job that you don’t like, aren’t fulfilled or don’t enjoy your co-workers. Isn’t there a phrase (a-la Grey’s Anatomy last night!) about “work wives” and “work husbands”? Think about it – we probably spend more time with our co-workers than our spouses, siblings and friends. If we don’t like them, then it makes it an awfully painful relationship and probably an unsatisfying arrangement.
Anyway, the girls asked how I was liking the current j-o-b and in all honesty its not horrible, but its not fulfilling nor challenging. I could literally “work” for 3-4 hours a week and have everything done that needs attention. Not to mention that the progress of the work is constantly stagnated by certain upper level management’s inability to make decisions. I feel as if I am whiling away my time simply satisfied to have the security of health insurance, a generous 401K contribution and a regular paycheck. We all know that now is not the best time to be a job seeker. So I should be satisfied with simply having my job, right? I suppose, but as my brother told me today “when you smile despite feeling miserable on the inside, you die a little bit because it doesn’t feel right.” Some days I feel like I’m atrophying (not quite as bad as dying) when I continue to do what I’m doing (or not doing).
But I lack the cohones to do as Wayne Dyer has said, “There is no scarcity of opportunity to make a living at what you love; there’s only scarcity of resolve to make it happen.” This would also mean I would have to determine what it is I love.
On another note – great new song from David Crowder Band.
Leave a Reply

