A Little Male Insight

I’m sure we have all wanted to be a fly on the wall at some time in our lives – to listen and observe the male specimen in his natural environment. Well, last night I (un)fortunately had the opportunity to be in such close quarters with three very different and interesting specimen of the male gender. Somehow I ended up watching the Nuggets vs. Lakers game with Seth, Kevin and Ryan. Honestly, I think Seth wanted me to come so that I could be the designated driver – for which I am thankful that he had the forethought to plan ahead. 

The boys allowed me into their inner sanctum of malehood. I’m not sure if they just felt that I was one of the guys, or if they just plain didn’t care that I was listening in – and even participating at times – in their unfiltered and bluntly honest male conversations. From marriage, their crazy wives, sports, jobs and even some unmentionables they left no sugar-coating on any of their descriptions or opinions. 

It was eye-opening to say the least…..
In some respects, I felt as if I was invading a very private and intimate ritual of male bonding. I don’t know if I’ve ever seen three grown men show so much love and affection for each other! Granted, the boys haven’t seen each other in a while, but I can’t even count how many times Kevin (middle) leaned over with his hand around Seth’s back, looked him straight in the eyes and leaned close to his face and say “I love you” or “I miss you, please come back to me.” 
And even Ryan got in on the love-fest. However, Ryan’s perspective was one of a jilted lover. It seems there is a little resentment for Seth leaving Ryan to move to Boulder. After several comments of “I can’t believe you left me!” from Ryan and a few sympathetic, lingering glances from Seth I think they have almost made up from their long absence. 
I had no idea I would have to share Seth with his many other male lovers….But I am happy that he has some great guys to share such an intimate relationship with! 
Leave a Reply

