Lemonade

When your life turns into a bowl of smashed lemons, have a glass of lemonade with a friend. 

I have a friend who recently went through a really difficult time in her life that told me that she hoped that God would somehow be able to use this situation for the good. That the experience of this horrific situation would somehow allow her to help others. 
Honestly, when she told me that I secretly rolled my eyes and thought she was crazy. Crazy for several reasons – One: she was still in the midst of this huge life trial, with no forseeable way to get out of the situation and return to a normal life. It was an ordeal that was going to (and still to this day) take a lot of time, love and healing. Two: I had been so unimpressed with how others had responded to her situation (especially those who call themselves “Christians”) that I couldn’t understand how she could see beyond the present to how these occurrences could be a blessing. Talk about a wise woman!
The reason that I bring this up is that I too have been through some “learning experiences” in my life. I think that many people have, but few are able to talk openly about some things that may be viewed negatively by others. Well, NEWS FLASH people, we are not all perfect! Actually, none of us is perfect no matter how hard we try to be. And I’ve accepted that about myself -in fact, I tend to broadcast my imperfection for the world to see. 
I’ve recently been approached by several individuals who wanted to share their own “learning experiences” with me. It seems we are all out there searching for someone to share with, seeking understanding and guidance, not judgement. And I think because of my own openness and ability to share and reflect on my own life, others feel comfortable talking with me. And for that, I am thankful and honored. 
My only real thought here is this – we are all human, we all make mistakes, we all need each other. So why can’t we be more Christ-like in the way that we treat and love each other: unconditionally and with grace. 
Leave a Reply

