Good Ole Nebraska

I decided to go home for the weekend – Seth was already driving back for his friends wedding, so I figured, heck, why not split the gas money and take a trip home. After all, it’s been a year and a half since I’ve been back! 
I had no idea what to expect on my little visit – I facebooked a few friends letting them know that I would be in town and wouldn’t mind seeing them and meeting their little kiddos. Thanks to Regina! I went over to meet little Ethan, who is adorable, and already has a great pitching arm at the tender age of not yet 2! 
Later that night, Sarah (Bean) Coughlin and I met for drinks – something we have never done before! Yes, I am 27 years old and I have never indulged in an adult beverage with my good friend Sarah! So it was quite a good evening for some celebration! Later, Gina and Jason met us at The Dish on “O” Street. After a few drinks – fun fruity drinks for the girls, an iced tea for Gina who was “with child” and a Bud Light for Mr. Teague (ha!) we were off to meet up with some other friends in the Haymarket District. 

Here is a picture of the girls – me, Regina Teague, Sarah Coughlin and Tricia Sandy
I have to say, I did feel bad for the boys – Jason, Ryan Cole and his friend Robert – as most of the conversation revolved around things that probably didn’t really interest them – kids, childbirth, stretch marks, etc
But, Sarah lightened the mood with her colorful gestures – which she shared often with Jason! And of course, humorous stories of raising two “little people” – Megan is 7 and Connor is 6. Yikes! The funniest stories included Megan tying Connor up with scotch tape, naked, like “the police officers do.” And also figuring out what “bad words” the kids knew – so that Sarah and Brad knew what they could and couldn’t say around the kids! 
I was so disappointed (and surprised at myself!) when our waitress came over and announced last call. We had been having so much fun (yes, my cheeks hurt badly and at times I thought I would pee my pants!) and time had slipped away. First of all, I couldn’t believe that it was already 12:30 and that I was still awake and functioning and secondly I couldn’t believe that it was so easy and fun to hang out with these amazing people that I have not seen or talked to in over 9 years! Why did the night have to come to an end already? It was like we were just getting warmed up!
I made it home by 2 am – after securing a safe ride for my drunk Korean friend! I had exactly 2 hours of sleep before I had to wake up to go to the Omaha Farmer’s Market with my mom, the Lollipop Lady! Let me tell you, at one point, I was kinda wishing that I hadn’t agreed to go. But in the end, I am glad I did, because it gave me and mom some time together – even if the majority of our conversation was consumed with lollipop and farmers market topics. 
Once I was back in Lincoln, I got a few messages inquiring about what we had planned for the evening. At this point I was shocked! It was not my initial intention to spend my weekend in Nebraska out downtown – but, if these crazy people wanted to do it again, then I was definitely game! This time we recruited Abbey Lowe to come with us! And what a great evening we had!
It was so good to have some of our old group back together again! Although it had been many years since we had seen or talked, and so much in our lives had changed, it was so easy to laugh with each other again like it was yesterday. 

I had such a good time in Lincoln – which is always a bit of surprise. But more importantly, it was great to reconnect with some amazing women who have touched my life and shaped me into who I was – and who I am. I cannot thank them enough for their unspoken love and support – and an environment free of judgement and shame, but filled with love, laughter and healing hugs! 

And Regina and I accomplished our mission of getting Seth and Jason back together. After a few years of not speaking to each other, it was time that these two long time best friends were reunited. It took some scheming on our part, but I finally got Seth to call Jason to meet us for lunch. And the boys are just as cute as ever!

http://picasaweb.google.com/s/c/bin/slideshow.swf

2 thoughts on “Good Ole Nebraska

  1. Seriously! I just found your blog, sometimes I just am not paying attention… I love the blog. And I loved seeing the pictures and thinking about how much fun we had. I wish I could have made it to the first night. Can’t wait to see you again. Much love! xoxoabbey

  2. Seriously, I don’t know how I missed your blog. Sometimes I am just not paying attention… I loved looking at ALL the photos, the ones of us taking shots especially. I just wish I could have made it to the first night out. Oh well as long as there is a next time, can’t wait for that. Anyway hoping all is well in your world. Peace and love to you girl. xoxoabbey

Leave a Reply

