Team In Training


This is a great photo from our recent Team In Training Fundraising event in Downtown Denver! In all we raised $700 for cancer research benefitting the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.

CRAZY is……26.2 miles!

Erin’s Running a Marathon!

Nike Women’s Marathon

San Francisco, CA

October 21st, 2007

26.2 miles

Goal: To finish in under 6 hours!!! And raise $4,200 for cancer research!!!

I never thought I could run this far! But I’m doing it – and my running ability and belief in myself grows every day. Sharon, my team honoree, is also doing it! Not only is she a breast cancer survivor and currently in remission from lymphoma, but she is also doing the marathon with me! How amazing is that!

Sharon has been a recipient of many of the services of our local chapter of the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. She has received patient assistance, been involved in group sessions and has greatly benefited from Rituxan, one of the drugs funded by the LLS.

This research and patient services are made available through the faithful donations of all of YOU! Yes, you are the ones responsible for these great strides towards a cure! Thank you for supporting me in my training and the running of this marathon. But thank you more importantly for doing your part to help others through your generous donations to cancer research.

To make a donation – use this secure website to make a donation by credit card.
Or mail checks made payable to the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society to me at
Erin Dietrich
3575 S. Waco St
Aurora, CO 80013

To find out more about how LLS is impacting the lives of blood cancer patients, read this article about a local Denver family. http://www.rockymountainnews.com/drmn/sports_columnists/article/0,1299,DRMN_83_5613303,00.html

Training has been going very well so far, but the fundraising has hit a serious low. I would sincerely ask each of you to donate a mere $30 ~ the cost of patient co-pay reimbursement. I will train hard to run this endurance event, but I need your support to meet my fundraising goals. Please send your donations today.

The goals are pretty big – 26.2 miles and $4,200 – but together we can do it and we will have a huge impact on so many lives. Thanks again. Check back at the website periodically as I will be updated it with how my training is going! Wish me luck!

Training Blog

Aug 18 – 3 hours. Yup. Think of all the things that you can do in 3 hours: watch a movie, do 3 1/2 loads of laundry, fly to California, get 3 one hour massages, heck it’s almost half a work day! Needless to say you can do a lot of stuff in 3 hours. But me, and my running teammates, well, we spent 3 hours observing horticulture and animal wildlife along the Highline Canal on Saturday morning. Yes, we trekked through the trail for 16 miles to discover that no on in their right mind should be running for 3 hours on a beautiful Saturday morning! Unless they were dedicated to a great organization like the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society! Not only are we dedicated to cancer research and monopolizing 3 hours of our mornings in sweaty running shoes, but we have developed the most amazing friendships. In fact, we are already planning Thanksgiving dinner at Donna’s house, New Year’s in New York with Chris’s family and they even surprised me with a birthday celebration on Saturday! I love these people and I love this cause! Support us by making a donation tonday!

Aug 11 – Today I competed in my first 1/2 marathon! We did the Georgetown to Idaho Springs 1/2 marathon and it was a beautiful run. Mostly downhill and a blast. So many from our training group were there running, and I even ran (pun intended!) into an old friend of mine. My time was pretty good – 2 hours and 12 minutes unofficially. And it was a nice change from the Highline Canal. Plus, our training run was supposed to have been 3 hours, so we cheated a bit by doing the 1/2 marathon!

Aug 4th – Motivation is at an all time low. I feel very bogged down with work, home life, school and I feel like it is having an impact on my running. I’m just not motivated and I don’t feel like I am performing as well as I could. So today I ran by myself instead of with the team. BIG MISTAKE! It’s during times like these when I need my teammates even more ~ they are what gets me through those runs. Plus its tough to be in a bad mood when you are around so many amazing people.

July 28 – I tried hard not to think about how long we would be running this week. I thought it would help me be less anxious. Well, it might have worked. The 2 hours and 45 minutes flew past! And we covered about 15.5 miles! And that included a stop at the portta-potty! Surprisingly, I felt really good after the run and it takes me less and less time to recover each Saturday. I only took a 2 hour nap and was up and moving after that. Knees were a bit sore, but not bad.

July 21 – 2 hours and 15 minutes….I think I need to start drinking more water during the week and eating more consciously. Less bar food, more nutritious food. I could tell that my body was tired this week. It was a rough run, but we did it. Donna made us run in the Miles for Miracles fundraising 5k on Sunday. It was a bit painful on the joints, but after the first mile and a half we were okay. It was fun, and I am glad that we did it. We even had our pictures on the Magnitron TV screen!

14 July – It’s odd that 2 hours can go by so quickly while running with friends – and that I would be relieved to only be running 2 hours rather than 2 ours 15 minutes!

7 July – I was so dreading this run all week! After a crappy run last week and a 30 minute increase in our time for this week plus a few nights of horrible sleep, I thought for sure I would end up walking a large portion of the run. But I did it! We ran 13 miles – that’s a half marathon! And I didn’t feel too bad afterwards. Yes, I was tired and really salty, but it felt good to know that I accomplished it! Just think – that means I am halfway there in my preparation for the marathon! Now we just need to get serious about the fundraising! GO TEAM!

30 June – I was relieved to find out that we only had to run 1 hour and 45 minutes, not the 2 hours I was anticipating. (I suppose I should follow the training guide a bit closer, huh?) But odd that I would be relieved by an hour and 45 minutes ~ cause if you’ve never done it, its a long run! Thank goodness for my training buddies who kept me going on Saturday, or I would have for sure stopped if I were running on my own. Thanks team!

23 June – What a great run! I don’t think I have ever felt so good after such a major physical expenditure. I ran at a bit of a faster pace today with my running buddy Marianne who has already completed other marathons. I figured she must know what she is doing! But it was a fabulous run through Cherry Creek and into Wash Park. And even better, we ended our monring with a wonderful breakfast honoring our Team Hero’s – those living with or in remission from leukemia, lymphoma or Hodgkin’s blood cancers. It was an inspiring morning and I wish that you could have all been there to understand fully why we are training to run these crazy marathons. Thanks for your support. Your donations are really helping to benefit those in our own communities who fight the cancer battle every day.

16 June – We ran today at Goodsen Rec Center along the Highline Canal. I had no idea that the trail went for so long – basically from Denver to Highlands Ranch! I told my friends that one day I am just gonna head out on the trail and that I would call for a ride home once I couldn’t run anymore ~ a little training tip I picked up from the NWU track team! But all I can say is thank goodness for shaded running trails. Those crazy people who run in the sun at mid day aren’t really runners! They are just plain crazy! I need the shade and I need the cool of the early morning before the heat of the day sets in. That’s us out there – Runners in Training!

9 June – Trained today at the TNT office and ran a great run. I think I am starting to figure this running thing out ~ and the importance of pacing so that I’m not sucking air at the end of the run! We also spent time today learning about proper stretching to prevent injuries. I think I might need to make an appointment with a chiropractor for my back spasms…..might help me maintain the training regime and get me through the marathon!

2 June – This weeks training was close to home at Bible Park. I never thought I was one to talk during training sessions or while running period. But, boy, get me talking and I just can’t shut up. Not sure if its because my mouth has to keep up with my feet or if its just because it takes your mind off the long runs. Either way, if you ever want to chat, ask me to go running! Thank goodness for making new friends on these long runs – glad that they put up with me!

26 May – Official first group run day! I was nervous and excited. I didn’t know anyone and wasn’t even sure I could run very far. I ended up sneaking out early to meet my relay team at the Colfax Marathon expo to pick up our bibs and racing chips. For the relay I ran the 10K leg which ended up being a 6.7 mile stretch rather than the 6.2 because of course error on the part of the marathon planners. No wonder my time was off! But hey, that’s the farthest I have ever run before. Just think – only 20 more miles and that’s a marathon! Oh, geez! What have I gotten myself into…..

Leave a Reply

